Skip Navigation LinksIFCA > IFCA | Instituto de Física de Cantabria > External Advisory Committee

External Advisory Committee

External Advisory Committee of the Institute of Physics of Cantabria

The committee is composed of 6 reputed scientists and experts in the different IFCA’s research lines. They are all very renowned in their field, and with very active participation in decision-making positions in each field.

Dr. Joseph Silk (cosmology), currently professor of physics at the Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris, Pierre et Marie Curie University, Homewood Professor of Physics and Astronomy at Johns Hopkins University (since 2010) and professor of astronomy at Gresham College since 2015, in addition to having a multitude of awards for his scientific activity;

Dr. Brigitte Rocca-Volmerange (Galaxies and AGNs), is Professor Emeritus at Université Paris Sud and l'Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris with a multitude of publications in the area of galaxy formation and evolution;

Dr. Marcella Diemoz (Particle Physics), is a senior researcher at INFN, sezione di Roma, where she has been its research director, has participated in different particle physics experiments and is a member in several committees, including the CERN science policy committee. She has been awarded several times for her scientific work;

Dr. Daniella Bortoletto (Particle Physics, detectors), is a professor at Oxford University and Senior Kurti fellow at Brasenose College and fellow of many other physics associations, expert in instrumentation, especially in the area of silicon detectors;

Dr. Norbert Meyer (Computing) is head of the Supercomputing Department of the Poznan Supercomputing and Networking Center (PSNC), coordinating many European grid and computing projects; and

Dr. Jürgen Kurths (Dynamics/Climate) is Research Professor at the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact, Professor of Nonlinear Dynamics at the Humboldt Institute of Physics in Berlin and Chair of Complex Systems Biology at the Institute for Complex Systems and Mathematical Biology at Kings College Aberdeen University (UK).

Pictured are, from top left to right, Daniella Bortolleto, Norbert Meyer, Brigitte Rocca-Volmerange, Joseph Silk, Marcella Diezman, Jurgen Kurths.

  • Joint Centre with the combined effort of Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) and University of Cantabria (UC)

    Instituto de Física de Cantabria
    Edificio Juan Jordá
    Avenida de los Castros, s/n
    E-39005 Santander
    Cantabria, Spain

  • © IFCA- Institute of Physics of Cantabria